skip to main content

Office of National Scholarship Advisement

University of Mississippi

UM National Scholarship Finalists and Winners, 2006 Prior

Marshall Scholarship Winner

J.R. Rigby, 2002

James is currently a Research Hydrologist with the USDA. He completed his Ph.D. in hydrology and fluid dynamics at the Pratt School of Engineering at Duke University.


Truman Scholarship Winners

Joel Fyke, 2004
Keyana Mitchell, 2001

After completing a masters in law and human rights at the Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Joel received a law degree from Stanford University Law School. He is currently an associate at Forman Watkins and Krutz LLP.
Keyana earned her M.D. from Emory University in 2006 and is a pediatrician at Gwinnett Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine in the Atlanta area.


Fulbright Scholarship Winners

Brooke Bagley Worthy, 2003
Lee Ann Jarrett, 2002

Research Winner, Hungary
Research Winner, Malaysia

Following her Fulbright year in Hungary, Brooke earned her M.A. degree in music, was a public school teacher and then academic programs and admissions coordinator at the Croft Institute.
Lee Ann earned her M.S.N. and then went on to finish her Ph.D. in nursing science in 2016 from Vanderbilt University. Her dissertation was titled Health-Related Stigma in Advanced Lung Cancer.


Goldwater Scholarship Winners

Adel Elsohly, 2006
Sam Watson, 2006
Currently a postdoctoral student at the University of California Berkeley, Adele completed his Ph. D. in synthetic organic chemistry at Columbia University in 2012.
Samuel completed his Ph.D. in mathematics at MIT in 2015 and is currently the Tamarkin Assistant Professor of Mathematics at Brown College.